The species has amused itself to death

Standard

I take a special kind of pride in coming up with titles that have nothing to do with the actual blog post. This ensures that my blog virtually never gets read and I have to coax people into reading it…

It’s Roger Waters birthday today!! he’s 70 today. now, i’m going to say my secret prayer I say every time i mention any of the remaining Beatles or Floyd or Dylan (Dear God, grant them immortality).

paul_mccartney_david_gilmour_the_beatles_pink_floyd_1976_knebworth djuseo_down_diamond

The Beatles and Pink Floyd hold a special place in my heart, because it was listening to “comfortably numb’ and ‘Something’ that opened my heart, mind and ears to real music and i dumped all the shitty boy bands i was listening to real fast. Then I was like a kid in a candy store, trying to devour every bit of their music, albums, live concerts, books, movies what have yous… anything I could get my hands on. Didn’t hurt that all of them, well most of them, were very easy on the eyes. Though i’m slightly partial to Syd, Dave and George.

syd

Before i wax poetic on Roger’s amazing writing abilities can I just share something awesome I heard today? Dave Gilmour singing Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18  this is possibly one of the most beautiful things you’ll ever hear! As one friend put it “Shakespeare + Dave = Lethal Combo!”

Okay, let’s talk about Roger now, has anyone else noticed that he’s one of the few people that’s just gotten better looking with age? he used to be anawkward, gangly kid till his late 30’s and now he’s just really hot!

Exhibit A

young roger imgRoger Waters2

compare that with old roger 2 old roger

Dayum, son!!

I’ve always been a huge fan of Waters’ lyrics, His words are haunting, menacing at times. and his singing just adds that extra maniacal touch. he’s by no means an excellent singer, Dave obviously has the better voice, the looks… he has the magic touch on the guitar and that smile and when he speaks french i just melt into a little puddle… did i start talking about Dave again? sorry! what was i saying? yeah, what Waters lacks in terms of voice quality he makes up for it with raw emotion… when he sings songs like “Don’t leave me now” or “one of my Turns” his voice cracks a little in the high octaves, and I think it just adds so much authenticity. It sounds like someone who’s about to lose his mind.

If I had choose one song of his that’s my favorite, it would definitely be from “the final cut”. If you don’t have it, do yourself a favor and make it “everything that you buy, beg, borrow or steal“. No, that’s not a clumsy insertion of a lyric… shutup! the two songs every Waters’ fan has to love are “two suns in the sunset” and “The Final cut“. also get “Amused to death”. you won’t regret either of those decisions. may be the best decisions you ever make!

Happy birthday, Roger!! i hope you google yourself today and see my post. I love you and want you to live forever 🙂

cake

Not very original, i know…

Much as I love Dave on his own, and I do love him lots! Together they made magic… Doesn’t look like a reunion is on the cards but as Rick said in Casablanca “We’ll always have DSOTM”

Leave a Reply

